Founder’s Award

Introduced at the 1981 National Order of the Arrow Conference, the Founder’s Award recognizes Arrowmen who have given outstanding service to their lodge. The award is reserved for an Arrowman who demonstrates that he or she personifies the spirit of selfless service, as advocated by founder E. Urner Goodman and cofounder Carroll A. Edson.

The award is a handsome bronze medallion bearing the likenesses of E. Urner Goodman and Carroll A. Edson, with a wooden base and a brass plate suitable for engraving. Available for uniform wear is a gold-colored arrow suspended from a red ribbon.

Lodges may petition the national Order of the Arrow committee to present between two and four awards annually, depending on the number of members in the lodge. If the lodge presents more than one award, at least one must be awarded to a youth under the age of 21.

Past Recipients

1995Jonathan Shaw &
Lowell Gardner
Tom Hudgens &
Jon Mikrut
1996Paul SkylesLarry Daniels
1997Jon Mendenhall Jan Mikrut
1998Matthew Bills &
Eric Alford
William Brunner
1999Michael Murphy
Sam Murphey
Gary Jenks
2000Scott Roberts Carol Marshall
2001Matt ArnoldJ.C. Harsh
2002Bobby JohnsonDave Pritchard
2003Sean SimmonsKurt Garner
2004Steve TilleyNo Recipient
2005Nathan RouseDan McKenzie
2006Justin HaseltineMary McKenzie
2007Caleb CordonierTom Rouse
2008Chris CourtneyDan Weber
2009Caleb HortonJeanette Rouse
2010Mark MuellerMike Mueller
2011Michael BrayBruce Shock
2012Cody SteppRichard Carter
2013Wesley MarrJeff Merkling
2014David BippesJeff Hole
2015Brandon ScottAl Schmidt
2016Preston LindsayJim Scott
2017Steve JettRuss Lewis
2018Trey LewisBill Marr
2019Garret SchmidtMike Walker
2020Tyler StrothkampChris

Back to top